Invitation to enjoy

I just received my formal Invitation.  For a while now, I’ve had an ongoing informal invitation for joy.  Sometimes I show up for it but then I get lazy and go back to serious, analytical mode…What’s down the road?  What will the end result look like?  How do I get there?  Am I doing enough?  Am I enough?  Will I make a difference? 

Jeez, I don’t have to take my freaking “journey” so seriously.  It’s not just about doing what I love to do, because that’s the easier part. The greater challenge for me is, what frame of mind am I in when I’m doing what I love.

Yesterday my doctor calls and tells me I have to go back for another test because they see something.  I have two ways to deal with this and both made an appearance….1-Bad word.   Just when my life is totally kick-ass I’m going to die.  OR, 2-It’s probably nothing they’re just being extra buttoned up which is great, that’s their job. I’m going to approach this with a light heart and trust it’s all going to be fine.  And I went with #2 and gratefully it ended with…”you’re good, come back in six months just to be sure”.

The possibility of having something truly serious and truly challenging in my life got my attention.  It wouldn’t have been the same old worries and internal dialog that usually consume my thoughts.  Whatever the outcome today or going forward will be, the situation appeared as an invitation to show up in my own life differently.  Sea Ocean Sand Beach Vacation Coast Chill Bare ConceptIt’s such a good time to accept this invitation because I’m ready to start creating some exciting things and what better time to enjoy myself.  I’m hearing “accept and enjoy every invitation…there’s one every second”. 

Comment

